## OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS GARNER-HAYFIELD-VENTURA COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Community School District was held on April 9, 2018, in the media center at the high school building at approximately 6:31 p.m.

Board Members Present – Larkin, Watson, J. Toppin, G. Toppin, Frank, and Linahon Board Members Absent – Roberts

Motion by G. Toppin, second by Frank, to approve the agenda as presented. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Linahon, to approve the minutes of the March 12, 2018, regular meeting, and the March 26, 2018, special meeting (work session). All voted in favor.

Board member Roberts arrived at the beginning of this discussion and presided for the balance of the meeting. Motion by Linahon, second by Watson, to approve the Secretary's Financial Reports, as well as the bill lists to be paid from the General Fund, Nutrition Fund, Flex Benefits Fund, Activity Fund, Management Fund, PPEL Fund, Insurance Fund, BASP Fund, 3 Year Old Pre-School Fund, and the House Construction Fund. All voted in favor.

There were no educational reports.

Administrator reports were heard from James Haag, Renee Denny, Mike Meyering, Debra Steenhard, and Tyler Williams.

Discussion was held on the pros and cons of moving the 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> graders to the junior high building. Educational improvement objectives were discussed as well as time frames for making this move. For example, move 6<sup>th</sup> graders for the 2018-2019 school year, move 5<sup>th</sup> graders for the 2019-2020 school year, move both grades in 2018-2019, or make no changes. Lost instructional time to transporting students and teachers between buildings is a big consideration. It was also noted that there would be financial savings if a move was to take place. Also preliminary discussion took place on possible uses for the intermediate building if students are moved with Mr. Williams indicating that the building would be used for education purposes if the move comes about, but the decision to make currently is if the building configurations should change and when. No action was taken. It was decided to hold a community meeting on May 9, 2018, at 7:00 p.m. in the high school auditorium to discuss this topic with district patrons.

2019 with the exception of nutrition prices which will be addressed at a later date. All voted in favor.

Motion by G. Toppin, second by Frank, to approve the proposed list of seniors graduating and/or receiving attendance certificates, and with those designated for graduation being contingent upon individually meeting all graduation requirements. All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by Linahon, to approve the IASB GASB 74/75 contract in the amount of \$6,800.00 as presented. This is a report needed for the audit and CAR.

Motion by G. Toppin, second by Frank, to approve Pritchard Auto for the lease of a driver's education vehicle in the amount of \$1,755.00. All voted in favor.

Motion by Larkin, second J. Toppin, to approve the following personnel items:

Resignations: Eric Hejna – Custodian Michelle Chizek – Cook Ashley Yap – Teacher Emberly Albertson – Asst. Cross Country Coach, pending suitable replacement Paul Schoneman – JH Girls Basketball Coach Katrina Klooster – Mentor Program Facilitator Rebecca Huberty – Asst. Softball Coach

Hires: Jack Johnson – 7-12 Business Teacher, JH Football Coach, JH Girls Basketball Coach Kaitlyn Aberson – HS English/Language Arts Teacher, Annual Sponsor, Newspaper Sponsor, JH Girls Track Coach Katrina Klooster – 5-8 Instructional Coach Jake Young – Head Boys Basketball Coach

All voted in favor.

Motion by Frank, second by G. Toppin, to award the Employee of the Month honor to Lorrie Formanek. All voted in favor.

Motion by G. Toppin, seconded by Larkin, to approve Board Policy Series 800. All voted in favor.

There being no further business to come before the board at this time, upon motion by J. Toppin, seconded by Frank, and unanimously carried, the regular meeting was adjourned by President Roberts at approximately 9:11 p.m.

Patricia A. Schmidt Board Secretary